It turns out that you can delete your account permanently. But first, you need to undo everything you’ve ever done on the site.
This means taking down every picture you’ve uploaded, leaving every group you’ve joined and deleting every comment you’ve made on peoples profile pages.
Source Channel 4 ..
and thats why opensocial is a step in the right direction ..